By Barbara Dogger, Ph.D
Founding member and former president
The organization was formed in February of 1979 at UNT. Member of the original board included John Crow, president; Salley Countryman, secretary-treasurer; Steve Lund; Don Whitmore; myself, and others.
The first conference was held in the fall of 1979 at UNT; a spring conference was held in April of 1980 at Management Laboratories of America/University of Dallas; and the third conference was held in the fall of 1980 at ELS (English Language Service) at European Crossroads in Dallas. "And the rest is history," as they say.

We did take a major step forward in 1987 when Sylvia Algaier became involved on the Board. As Director of Bilingual/ESL for the Richardson ISD at that time, she captured the attention of the ESOL professionals working in the K-12 arena. Their involvement helped the affiliate to become more broad-based in terms of membership and representation.

We are glad you visited the TexTESOL V website!
Please contact us via email or U.S. Mail using the contact information below:


P.O. Box. #283
5930 Royal Lane Ste E
Dallas, TX 75230

We look forward to hearing from you!
Comments: 0